Research Databases


General


Gale Database Powersearch
Provides researchers with access to almost all the Gale content in your library's collection through one, single search query.


Academic Onefile  tips
Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.


Academic Search Premier  tips
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Biography In Context  tips
Over 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.


Britannica Online
The foundation of this database is the Encyclopedia Britannica, the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. In addition, access is provided to statistical data, a dictionary, thesaurus, quotations, an atlas and more.


Credo Reference
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. Try using the Concept Map option for brainstorming.


Facts On File
Facts on File contains the following databases: the U.S. Government Online presents in-depth information on the structure and function of the U.S. government; the World News Digest (domestic & world news coverage 1940-present); Issues and Controversies (in-depth, objective articles on the most controversial, complex social issues of our times 1995-present); Issues and Controversies in American History provides a better understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought. Today's Science (science news coverage, illustrated generously, updated weekly, and fully linked to background information 1992-present); the World Almanac Reference Database (combines new & past editions of the World Almanac & Book of Facts with the World Almanac Encyclopedia in a broad reference database) Films On Demand offers higher education institutions thousands of full-length streaming videos and clips many exclusive from acclaimed producers.


General OneFile  tips
This is a general interest periodical resource for researchers at all levels. Content includes more than 12,000 titles with nearly 30 years of coverage. Approximately 96 million records are updated daily and can be searched using an easy to understand interface.


General Reference Center Gold
Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.


Junior Edition K12
For students in junior high and middle school. Magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health etc.


Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.


Virtual Reference Library  tips
An online collection of trusted, authoritative reference works available 24/7, including encyclopedias and specialized sources for multidisciplinary research. These eBooks can be searched individually or as a complete collection.



Business


Business Insights Essentials
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.


Business Source Premier  tips
Business Source Premier is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.


General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.


Lexis-Nexis
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria.



Current Issues


CQ Researcher
Provides full-text reports on controversial topics and current social issues. Use this collection to find a topic for a paper, or as a starting point for your research.


Global Issues In Context  tips
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.


Issues & Controversies from Facts on File
Provides in-depth, objective articles on the most controversial, complex social issues of our times from 1995 to the present.


Opposing Viewpoints In Context  tips
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.



Education


Educator's Reference Complete
This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college. Find full-text periodicals, reports and reference sources for teachers and school administrators. Also provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC.


ERIC(Education Resources Information Center)
Provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.


Kids Infobits
This database is developed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.



History & Government


ABC-CLIO Social Studies
This collection of social studies resources includes the American Government file which provides innovative ways of matching current events with enduring themes of American politics and public policy at all levels. The American History file investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation's evolution from the first explorers in the New World to the developments in today's headlines. The U.S. at War file provides access to authoritative reference content, pertinent primary sources, and a wealth of historical insight and analysis on the important themes and consequences of all major U.S.-involved wars. The Issues file provides an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy. The two World History files, Ancient and Modern, provide a broad spectrum of resources on human history from prehistoric times to the modern era.


History Reference Center  tips
This database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC., Salem Press, Stackpole Books, Toucan Valley Publications and more.



Issues & Controversies in American History from Facts on File
Provides in-depth, objective articles on the most controversial, complex social issues of our times from 1995 to the present.


Massachusetts History Online
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.


U.S. Government Online from Facts on File
In-depth information on the structure and function of the Unites States government.


U.S. History In Context  tips
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes authoritative reference content, full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.


World History In Context  tips
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Includes authoritative reference content, full-text articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.



Legal Issues


Lexis-Nexis
Access primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations or dive into secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. Provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.



Literature


Books and Authors
Offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.


Contemporary Literary Criticism
An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study.


Humanities International Complete  tips
This resource provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Humanities International Complete includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.


Literature Resource Center
Information on literary topics, authors and their works. Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.



Newspapers


Boston Globe
Full-text articles from the Boston Globe (1980 to present).


Lexis-Nexis
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.


New York Times
Full-text coverage of the New York Times.


World News Digest from Facts on File
Contains both domestic and world news coverage from 1940-present.



Nursing


CINAHL from Ebscohost  tips
Search the definitive database for nursing and allied health research. This authoritative file contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no restrictions.


Health Reference Center Academic
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.


Health and Wellness Resource Center  tips
Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to abroad collection of Gale reference titles.


Nursing Reference Center
Provides in-depth content covering areas including conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab &diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.


Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients.


OvidSP Nursing Journals  tips
Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.


ProQuest Nursing Journals
This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of and the allied health professions.


PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.


PubMed Central
NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research reports in the life sciences. View the full text of articles online.


PubMed Health
Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.



Science/Social Sciences


PsycArticles
PsycARTICLES is a robust database offering complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience from the current issue back to volume 1, issue 1 for most titles, creating over a century of psychology coverage with articles from as early as 1894. Complete coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes is included.


Science In Context  tips
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Find authoritative reference content as well as full-text magazine, academic journal and news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.


Today's Science from Facts on File
Contains science news coverage, illustrated generously, updated weekly, and fully linked to background information from 1992 to the present.



BACK TO TOP