Databases

 

Research Databases- by Subject

The library has over 50 databases available for students to use for course assignments and other research projects.  All students and faculty should use their MyQC Portal login information to access library resources remotely.  

 General

galepowersearch

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Gale Powersearch 
Provides researchers with access to almost all the Gale content in your library’s collection through one, single search query.

 Special Features:
Color‐coded tabbed results for easy source identification.  Citation generation in multiple formats — including MLA and APA.  Subject‐assisted search option. Language translator in eight languages including Spanish, French, simplified Chinese and others.

AcademicOnefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic OneFile
Includes peer reviewed, full-text scholarly content covering most academic disciplines.

 Special Features:
Topic Finder:  way to visualize which words and subjects are found most often in the text of your search results. Trending Now: pre-selected results by current popular topics.  Limit search results by: video, images, audio.

ASP_button_150x75

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database containing full-text from more than 4700 journals.  Subjects include biology, chemistry,history, literature physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology as well as current events.

 Special Features:
Limit document type to primary source document, educational report, conference proceedings, book.  Includes 60,000+ videos from Associated Press.

Biography in context

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Biography In Context
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covers a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.

 Special Features:
Includes images.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.

boston-globe

Boston Globe
Access full-text articles from 1980 to present. Each issue is indexed thoroughly. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

 Special Features:
Can search within result set to further modify search. With Advanced Search can look for text in image captions. Text only of news stories. No images or pictures.

Credo Reference

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Credo Reference
Topic exploration reference tool providing multiple approaches to finding information on a subject.  A basic search draws full-text results from a variety of encyclopedias as well as a snapshot of hits in other library databases.

 Special Features:
Mind Map feature links related concepts, an extensive biographical database, searchable database of free, downloadable images (over 200,000), video collections and ability to identify the author of a specific quote.

fof

Facts on File contains the following databases: Issues & Controversies provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today’s hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources; American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience;  Issues and Controversies in American History provides a better understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought; Bloom’s Literature examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature; Writer’s Reference Center provides the essential one-stop online reference for writers, with all the tools necessary to write and research effectively; Films on Demand offers higher education institutions thousands of full-length streaming videos and clips—many exclusive—from acclaimed producers.

Generalonefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

General OneFile
Comprehensive general-interest resource providing access to predominately popular magazines and news information.  Contains more than 25 years of backfiles and five newspapers indexes.

 Special Features:
Includes over 500 travel guides, National Public Radio (NPR) programs 1990 to present with searchable transcripts, and links to over 5000 videos of news programs like the Today Show and Meet the Press.

 

research-in-context

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Reseach In Context 
Research in Context combines the best of Gale’s reference content with appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary resources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies and history.

 Special Features:
Topic Pages to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Spotlighted Topics provide more information on that topic.

nytimes

 

 

 

New York Times 
Full-text of all articles from the complete newspaper from 1980 to present.

 Special Features:
Can limit to images although mostly text database.  Topic Finder facilitates narrowing search results to desired context.

InfoTracStudentEd

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

 

 

InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

statistical abstract

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The most comprehensive source of statistics on the social, political and economic aspects of the U.S.  Consists of more than 1400 individually indexed tables that are both searchable and browsable.  Updated monthly.

 Special Features:
Line item access to each table.  Can narrow results by source, data date, subject, type of data breakdown.  Provides APA and MLA citation format for all tables.

 

careers

Vocations and Careers Collections 
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

Business

BusiCol

Business Collection
Covers of all business disciplines as well as business theory and practice. Includes access to PROMT (Predicasts Overview of Markets and Technology), a premier multi-industry database covering broad international coverage of over sixty manufacturing and service industries useful for competitive intelligence.  Includes selection of international, U.S. and regional news.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

ppbe-web

Business Economics & Theory Collection
More than 150 academic journals and magazines support econ studies.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

imgres

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Business Source Premier
Full-text access to over 2,200 journals back to 1965.  Database includes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.

 Special Features:
A to Z list by company with pdfs of MarketLine Reports.  Video content from Associated Press.   Image search feature customizable by type of image. Business thesaurus.  Translation and “Listen” tools available for most articles.

small business resource center

 

 

 

Small Business Resource Center
Startups and established businesses alike can access How To’s covering vital questions.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

communication-and-mass-media

 

 

 

Communications and Mass Media Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

ppil-web

Insurance & Liability Collection
Reliable information on labor relations, mortgages, legal issues and more.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

small-business-collection

Small Business Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

Current Issues

boston-globe

 

 

 

Boston Globe
Access full-text articles from 1980 to present. Each issue is indexed thoroughly. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
 Special Features:
Can search within result set to further modify search. With Advanced Search can look for text in image captions. Text only of news stories. No images or pictures.

cqresearcher

CQ Researcher
Consists of reports on current issues in the news. Each report written by seasoned journalist. Reports include introductory overview with pro-con positions, background and chronology of the topic, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, and bibliographies of key sources.

 Special Features:
Can search by keyword or Browse Topics.  CAUTION: note date of the report as some can be older than 5 years.

GIC

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Global Issues In Context
General-interest database designed to support global awareness. Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search format.

 Special Features:
Use Browse Issues & Topics to identify topics for research papers.

IssuesCon_Icon

Issues and Controversies from Facts On File
Explores and analyzes hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service news feed providing the latest headline stories.

 Special Features:
Topic Pages feature latest news headlines fron Reuters, pro-con arguments, primary documents, vital statistics, and chronologies of key events.  Includes videos from Intelligence Squared U.S. Debates.

nytimes

 

 

 

New York Times 
Full-text of all articles from the complete newspaper from 1980 to present.

 Special Features:
Can limit to images although mostly text database.  Topic Finder facilitates narrowing search results to desired context.

OpposingViewPointsinContext

 

 

 

Opposing View Points In Context 
Includes more than 19,600 pro/con viewpoints on today’s hottest topics.  Provides more than 13,000 topic overviews.

 Special Features:
300+ profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.  Includes images, videos and audio files.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.

 Education

AcademicOnefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic OneFile
Includes peer reviewed, full-text scholarly content covering most academic disciplines.

 Special Features:
Topic Finder:  way to visualize which words and subjects are found most often in the text of your search results. Trending Now: pre-selected results by current popular topics.  Limit search results by: video, images, audio.

ASP_button_150x75

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database containing full-text from more than 4700 journals.  Subjects include biology, chemistry,history, literature physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology as well as current events.  

 Special Features:
Limit document type to primary source document, educational report, conference proceedings, book.  Includes 60,000+ videos from Associated Press.

educatorreference

Educator’s Reference Complete
Provides full-text access for many of the titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college.  The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. 

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

ERIC

ERIC
Most comprehensive listing of education related articles collected by the U.S. Department of Education.  Provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.. Some links to full-text articles.

 Special Features:
Can filter search results to education level and to audience (teachers, parents, policymakers, etc.).  Includes Thesaurus to identify related concepts.

research-in-context

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Reseach In Context 
Research in Context combines the best of Gale’s reference content with appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary resources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies and history.

 Special Features:
Topic Pages to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Spotlighted Topics provide more information on that topic.

kidsinfobits

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Kids InfoBits
Developed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. A content-rich resource with a mobile responsive design.  The inviting and user-friendly interface helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

Physical Therapy

AcademicOnefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

 

 

Academic OneFile
Includes peer reviewed, full-text scholarly content covering most academic disciplines.

 Special Features:
Topic Finder:  way to visualize which words and subjects are found most often in the text of your search results. Trending Now: pre-selected results by current popular topics.  Limit search results by: video, images, audio.

ASP_button_150x75

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

 

 

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database containing full-text from more than 4700 journals.  Subjects include biology, chemistry,history, literature physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology as well as current events.

 Special Features:
Limit document type to primary source document, educational report, conference proceedings, book.  Includes 60,000+ videos from Associated Press.

Aclands-1

 

 

Acland Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new, groundbreaking videos of the inner ear. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life.

 Special Features:
Key terms related to each video are listed on the bottom left side of the video window under See Also.  Individual video links may be added to notes, syllabi, and lectures by including the URL hyperlink. A list of URLs for each video is available at the bottom of the About page or click here to view URL links.

cinahl

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

CINAHL
Consists of full-text articles from over 550 nursing and allied health journals. Includes publications from the National League of Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association. Includes dissertations and some online books.

 Special Features:
Can click on Find Similar Results when relevant article identified.  Large number of available fields to narrow results in Advanced Search option.

healthreference

Health Reference Center Academic  
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. 

 Special Features:
More than 2,500 topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems. Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

healthwellness

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Health & Wellness Resource Center
General-interest database providing integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. Includes full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. 

 Special Features:
Can search by categories of information, e.g. diseases & conditions, drugs, health assessment.  Includes videos.

physical therapy and fitness

Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy Collection
Includes full-text articles from 100 publications in the fields of fitness and sports.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

pubMed

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine.  Contains more than 25 million records, predominantly MEDLINE citations encompassing life sciences literature worldwide.  Contains some links to full-text articles but predominantly this is a citation database.

 Special Features:
Access and links to integrated molecular biology and chemistry databases maintained by NCBI.  Provides sophisticated search strategies employing Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus.

pmc

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Central 
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.  Contains full-text articles and constitutes a “subset” of the larger MEDLINE database.

pubMed Health

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Health
Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. Published by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. Contributors includes Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Cochrane, National Cancer Institute (NCI), Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and others.

 Special Features:
Methods Resources collection includes documents about the best research and statistical techniques for systematic reviews and effectiveness research. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed. A filter is used to identify all the indexed scientific articles that might be systematic reviews.

science direct

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Science Direct
Quincy College subscription provides full-text access to journals in the Life Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities subsets.  Searches in other subsets retrieve article citations. Database contains nearly 2500 journals and over 30,000 books.  International in scope.

Special Features:
Conduct either topical search or search within specific journal titles.   Contains links to open access journals, open archives, and open access articles.

Reference

Biography in context

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Biography In Context
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covers a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.

 Special Features:
Includes images.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.

 

britannica-ref

Britannica Reference Center
Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons — from grade school students to business professionals. 

 Special Features:
Includes media and article browse, Countries comparison  and Biographies. Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  

Credo Reference

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Credo Reference
Topic exploration reference tool providing multiple approaches to finding information on a subject.  A basic search draws full-text results from a variety of encyclopedias as well as a snapshot of hits in other library databases.

 Special Features:
Mind Map feature links related concepts, an extensive biographical database, searchable database of free, downloadable images (over 200,000), video collections and ability to identify the author of a specific quote.

 

statistical abstract

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The most comprehensive source of statistics on the social, political and economic aspects of the U.S.  Consists of more than 1400 individually indexed tables that are both searchable and browsable.  Updated monthly.

 Special Features:
Line item access to each table.  Can narrow results by source, data date, subject, type of data breakdown.  Provides APA and MLA citation format for all tables.

 

Health & Life Sciences

Aclands-1

 

 

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new, groundbreaking videos of the inner ear. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life.

 Special Features:
Key terms related to each video are listed on the bottom left side of the video window under See Also.  Individual video links may be added to notes, syllabi, and lectures by including the URL hyperlink. A list of URLs for each video is available at the bottom of the About page or click here to view URL links.

cinahl

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

CINAHL
Consists of full-text articles from over 550 nursing and allied health journals. Includes publications from the National League of Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association. Includes dissertations and some online books.

 Special Features:
Can click on Find Similar Results when relevant article identified.  Large number of available fields to narrow results in Advanced Search option.

healthreference

Health Reference Center Academic  
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. 

 Special Features:
More than 2,500 topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems. Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

healthwellness

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Health & Wellness Resource Center
General-interest database providing integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. Includes full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. 

 Special Features:
Can search by categories of information, e.g. diseases & conditions, drugs, health assessment.  Includes videos.

physical therapy and fitness

Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy Collection
Includes full-text articles from 100 publications in the fields of fitness and sports.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

pubMed

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine.  Contains more than 25 million records, predominantly MEDLINE citations encompassing life sciences literature worldwide.  Contains some links to full-text articles but predominantly this is a citation database.

 Special Features:
Access and links to integrated molecular biology and chemistry databases maintained by NCBI.  Provides sophisticated search strategies employing Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus.

pmc

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Central 
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.  Contains full-text articles and constitutes a “subset” of the larger MEDLINE database.

pubMed Health

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Health
Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. Published by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. Contributors includes Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Cochrane, National Cancer Institute (NCI), Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and others.

 Special Features:
Methods Resources collection includes documents about the best research and statistical techniques for systematic reviews and effectiveness research. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed. A filter is used to identify all the indexed scientific articles that might be systematic reviews.

science direct

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Science Direct
Quincy College subscription provides full-text access to journals in the Life Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities subsets.  Searches in other subsets retrieve article citations. Database contains nearly 2500 journals and over 30,000 books.  International in scope.

Special Features:
Conduct either topical search or search within specific journal titles.   Contains links to open access journals, open archives, and open access articles.

Environment

EnvGale

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Full-text information from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, part of Cengage Learning. Contains more than 3.3 million articles on global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, agronomy and much more.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

History & Government 

AcademicOnefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic OneFile
Includes peer reviewed, full-text scholarly content covering most academic disciplines.

 Special Features:
Topic Finder:  way to visualize which words and subjects are found most often in the text of your search results. Trending Now: pre-selected results by current popular topics.  Limit search results by: video, images, audio.

ASP_button_150x75

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database containing full-text from more than 4700 journals.  Subjects include biology, chemistry,history, literature physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology as well as current events.  

 Special Features:
Limit document type to primary source document, educational report, conference proceedings, book.  Includes 60,000+ videos from Associated Press.

 

hrc_button_150x75

History Reference Center
Contains full text content from more than 150 leading history periodicals. Includes more than 600,000 full-text articles and primary source materials.

 Special Features:
Over 56,000 historical documents; 81,000+ biographies of historic figures; over 40,000 images including maps and historical photos; 80+ hours of historical video.

FOF-American-History

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social and cultural history to cover the American experience.  Contains full-text articles, primary sources, videos, maps and graphs.

 Special Features:
Conduct either general subject search or search by Topic Center (Civil War and Reconstruction, The Sixties, etc.).   Can use timelines to track articles relevant to major historical themes (e.g. civil rights).   Includes over 5,000 videos.

IssuesConAmHistory_icon

Issues & Controversies in American History 
Provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history. All articles feature multiple primary sources. Articles divided into 10 major time periods, from the precolonial era to the present. Articles also searchable by subject.

 Special Features:
Counterfactual “What if?” sections for select articles. Google Translate on every page, with 80 languages to choose from. Read Aloud feature.

 

ppmi-web

Military & Intelligence Database
Journal content covers the past and current state of military affairs.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Audio tool available with many articles.

ushistorycollection

U.S. History Collection 
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Audio tool available with many articles.

USHistoryInContext

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

U.S. History In Context
Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.  Full-text articles drawn from leading historical periodicals and newspapers. 

 Special Features:
Images, videos, and audio selections from NPR, The History Channel, Associated Press, and other trusted sources.  8,000+ rare and vital primary source documents. Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.

ppwt-web

War & Terrorism Collection
Periodicals for analysts, risk management professionals and students.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to faciliate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Audio tool available with many articles.

world-history-collection

World History Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.  Audio tool available with many articles.

WorldHistory in Cotext

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

World History In Context
Provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.  Includes full-text periodicals and journals.

 Special Features:
2,000+ maps and atlases. Topic-integrated image gallery. Video and audio selections, from archival newsreels to NPR.    Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account..

Literature

blooms

Bloom’s Literature
Contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom’s Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Includes more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.

 Special Features:
Search by literary characters and genre.  Contains live links to performance videos, chronology of world literature, Bloom’s Literary Canon, strategies for good essay writing.

HumanitiesInternationalComplete

Humanities International Complete 
Contains full-text articles from more than 1200 journals and worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.  Also contains 3,000+ citations from Humanities International Index.

 Special Features:
Can limit search results by over 90 different “document types” for example, art, back cover, cartoon, case study, essay, interview, literary criticism, play, poem, etc.

LitResourceCenter

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Literature Resource Center
Combines full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines  with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Covers all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world. 

 Special Features:
Full-text poems and stories.  Links to vetted literary websites.  Audio interviews and reviews.  Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.

WRC_Icon

Writer’s Reference Center 
Covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides vocabulary-building dictionaires and step-by-step guide to writing a good essay.  Includes indepth grammer section and examples and a section exploring writing style.

 Special Features:
Sections on: Top Grammer Errors, Often Confused Words and Most Common Puncuation Mistakes.  “Did You Mean….?” search feature.  Dictionary of Cliches.

Newspapers

boston-globe

 

 

 

Boston Globe
Access full-text articles from 1980 to present. Each issue is indexed thoroughly. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
 Special Features:
Can search within result set to further modify search. With Advanced Search can look for text in image captions. Text only of news stories. No images or pictures.

infotrac newsstand

 

 

 

Infotrac Newsstand
Search full-text articles by headline, date, newspaper section and more.
Special Features:
Can limit to images although mostly text database. Topic Finder facilitates narrowing search results to desired context.

nytimes

 

 

 

New York Times 
Full-text of all articles from the complete newspaper from 1980 to present.

 Special Features:
Can limit to images although mostly text database.  Topic Finder facilitates narrowing search results to desired context.

Nursing

Aclands-1

 

 

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new, groundbreaking videos of the inner ear. Dr. Robert Acland presents moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life.

 Special Features:
Key terms related to each video are listed on the bottom left side of the video window under See Also.  Individual video links may be added to notes, syllabi, and lectures by including the URL hyperlink. A list of URLs for each video is available at the bottom of the About page or click here to view URL links.

cinahl

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

CINAHL
Consists of full-text articles from over 550 nursing and allied health journals. Includes publications from the National League of Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association. Includes dissertations and some online books.

 Special Features:
Can click on Find Similar Results when relevant article identified.  Large number of available fields to narrow results in Advanced Search option.

healthreference

Health Reference Center Academic  
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. 

 Special Features:
More than 2,500 topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems. Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

healthwellness

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Health & Wellness Resource Center
General-interest database providing integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. Includes full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. 

 Special Features:
Can search by categories of information, e.g. diseases & conditions, drugs, health assessment.  Includes videos.

 

OvidSP

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

 

OvidSP Nursing Journals
Select set of approximately 40 premier full-text nursing journals.  Contains 10 year back-files.  Can search within specific journal title or search all journals at once.

 Special Features:
Nurse’s Choice –  Recommended Readings.  Provides links to full-text of mostly widely read nursing articles in the previous month.

proquestnursing

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Nursing & Allied Health Database
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.

 Special Features:
MedCom video collection can be viewed in document view or downloaded to your device or desktop in alternate formats. The cultural reports provide information on history, religion, language, family, health, death, diet and many more cultural practices and beliefs from over 200 countries.   Use Study Paths to find key topics and recommended readings.

pubMed

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. Contains more than 25 million records, predominantly MEDLINE citations encompassing life sciences literature worldwide. Contains some links to full-text articles but predominantly this is a citation database.

Special Features:
Access and links to integrated molecular biology and chemistry databases maintained by NCBI. Provides sophisticated search strategies employing Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus.

pmc

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Contains full-text articles and constitutes a “subset” of the larger MEDLINE database.

pubMed Health

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

PubMed Health
Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. Published by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. Contributors includes Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Cochrane, National Cancer Institute (NCI), Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and others.

Special Features:
Methods Resources collection includes documents about the best research and statistical techniques for systematic reviews and effectiveness research. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed. A filter is used to identify all the indexed scientific articles that might be systematic reviews.

science direct

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Science Direct
Quincy College subscription provides full-text access to journals in the Life Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities subsets.  Searches in other subsets retrieve article citations. Database contains nearly 2500 journals and over 30,000 books.  International in scope.

Special Features:
Conduct either topical search or search within specific journal titles.   Contains links to open access journals, open archives, and open access articles.

 Social Sciences

AcademicOnefile

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic OneFile
Includes peer reviewed, full-text scholarly content covering most academic disciplines.

 Special Features:
Topic Finder:  way to visualize which words and subjects are found most often in the text of your search results. Trending Now: pre-selected results by current popular topics.  Limit search results by: video, images, audio.

ASP_button_150x75

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Academic Search Premiere
Multidisciplinary database containing full-text from more than 4700 journals.  Subjects include biology, chemistry,history, literature physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology as well as current events.  

 Special Features:
Limit document type to primary source document, educational report, conference proceedings, book.  Includes 60,000+ videos from Associated Press.

criminaljusticeGale

 

 

 

Criminal Justice Collection
Access to 150 journals gives users insight into criminal justice topics.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

generalscience

General Science Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

ppds-web

Diversity Studies Collection
Find engaging explorations of cultural differences, contributions and influences.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

ppgb-web

Gender Studies Collection
Balanced coverage of gender studies, family/marital issues, health and more.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

pppc-web

Psychology Collection
Find 24/7 access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

 Special Features:
Includes Topic Finder to facilitate narrowing search results to the desired context.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.

PsyINFO

PsycINFO
The world’s largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.

 Special Features:
The Audio Summary link prompts you to download.  Result List sorting options: Date Newest, Date Oldest, Author, Source, or Relevance.  Subject Terms that are assigned to each item are displayed in the result list.

ScienceInContext

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Science in Context
This general-interest database integrates information on leading science topics of today.  Includes reference sources, full-text journal articles, news, images, videos and audio files.

 Special Features:
Provides links to vetted websites.  Contains more than 200 experiments and projects from simple to complex.   Translation and audio tools available with many articles.  Can directly download articles to personal Google Drive account.
science direct

document,information,file,paper,info,about,property

Science Direct
Quincy College subscription provides full-text access to journals in the Life Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities subsets.  Searches in other subsets retrieve article citations. Database contains nearly 2500 journals and over 30,000 books.  International in scope.

Special Features:
Conduct either topical search or search within specific journal titles.   Contains links to open access journals, open archives, and open access articles.
Reminder: All Students and Faculty should use their MyQC Portal login information to access library resources remotely.